

GB.308/1 308th Session

## **Governing Body**

Geneva, June 2010

## FOR DECISION

FIRST ITEM ON THE AGENDA

# Election of the Officers of the Governing Body for 2010–11

**1.** The Governing Body will be required to elect its Officers in accordance with the following provisions of article 2.1 of its Standing Orders:

#### ARTICLE 2.1

Officers

2.1.1. The Officers shall consist of a Chairman and two Vice-Chairmen chosen one from each of the three groups. Only regular members of the Governing Body may be elected Officers.

2.1.2. The Officers shall be elected at a sitting of the Governing Body held at the close of the annual session of the International Labour Conference and shall hold office from their election until the election of their successors.

2.1.3. The Chairman shall not become re-eligible until three years after he ceases to hold office.

- **2.** For the convenience of members of the Governing Body, a list of former Chairpersons is appended.
- **3.** The Governing Body is requested to elect its Chairperson and Vice-Chairpersons for the coming year.

Geneva, 17 June 2010.

*Point for decision:* Paragraph 3.

## Appendix

### List of Chairpersons of the Governing Body of the ILO

Mr Arthur FONTAINE	France <sup>1</sup>	1919–31
Mr Ernest MAHAIM	Belgium <sup>1</sup>	1931–32
Sir Atul CHATTERJEE	India <sup>1</sup>	1932–33
Mr C.V. BRAMSNAES	Denmark <sup>2</sup>	1933–34
Mr Giuseppe de MICHELIS	Italy <sup>1</sup>	1934–35
Mr Walter RIDDELL	Canada <sup>1</sup>	1935–36
Mr Jaromir NECAS	Czechoslovakia <sup>2</sup>	1936–37
Mr (later Sir) Frederick LEGGETT	United Kingdom <sup>1</sup>	1937–38
Mr Paal BERG	Norway <sup>2</sup>	1938–39
Mr Carter GOODRICH	United States <sup>1</sup>	1939–45
Mr (later Sir) Guildhaume MYRDDIN-EVANS	United Kingdom <sup>1</sup>	1945–47
Mr Luis ALVARADO	Peru <sup>2</sup>	1947–48
Mr Shamaldharee LALL	India <sup>1</sup>	1948–49
Mr Léon-Eli TROCLET	Belgium <sup>2</sup>	1950–51
Mr Paul RAMADIER	France <sup>1</sup>	1951–52
Mr Fernando CISTERNAS	Chile <sup>2</sup>	1952
Mr Fernando GARCIA OLDINI	Chile <sup>2</sup>	1953
Mr A.M. MALIK	Pakistan <sup>2</sup>	1953–54
Mr Roberto AGO	Italy <sup>1</sup>	1954–55
Mr Arthur H. BROWN	Canada <sup>1</sup>	1955–56
Sir Guildhaume MYRDDIN-EVANS	United Kingdom <sup>1</sup>	1956–57
Mr Emilio CALDERON PUIG	Mexico <sup>2</sup>	1957–58
Mr Júlio A. BARBOZA-CARNEIRO	Brazil <sup>2</sup>	1958–59
Mr Ernst MICHANEK	Sweden <sup>2</sup>	1959–60
Mr George C. LODGE	United States <sup>1</sup>	1960–61
Mr S.T. MERANI	India <sup>1</sup>	1961–62
Mr Alexandre PARODI	France <sup>1</sup>	1962–63
Mr Emilio CALDERON PUIG	Mexico <sup>2</sup>	1963–64
Mr George V. HAYTHORNE	Canada <sup>1</sup>	1964–65
Mr Oumar Baba DIARRA	Mali <sup>2</sup>	1965–66
Mr Morio AOKI	Japan <sup>1</sup>	1966–67
Mr Roberto AGO	Italy <sup>1</sup>	1967–68
Mr George L.P. WEAVER	United States <sup>1</sup>	1968–69
Mr Héctor GROS ESPIELL	Uruguay <sup>2</sup>	1969–70
Mr S.O. KOKU	Nigeria <sup>2</sup>	1970–71
Mr Umarjadi NJOTOWIJONO	Indonesia <sup>2</sup>	1971–72

<sup>1</sup> One of the States of chief industrial importance.

<sup>2</sup> Elected State.

Mr John MAINWARING Mr Arturo MUÑOZ LEDO Mr Mohamed Al-Arbi KHATTABI Mr P.H. (later Sir Halford) COOK Mr Winfrid HAASE Mr Joseph MORRIS (Canada) Mr Héctor CHARRY SAMPER Mr Paul DONTSOP Mr Vijit SANGTONG Mr Gabriel VENTEJOL Miss Aída GONZALEZ MARTINEZ Mr Titus K.B. MBATHI Mr Robert J. OUKO Mr B.G. DESHMUKH Mr J.-J. OECHSLIN (France) Mr W.R.B. ROBINSON Mr M.V. RUSSOMANO Mr N.G. MENSAH Mr D.G. POULTER Mr G. MUHR (Germany) Mr Y. CHOTARD Mr M. VARGAS CAMPOS Mr J.L. NKOMO Mrs M. Nieves ROLDAN-CONFESOR Mr Y. CHOTARD Mr J. ARRATE MAC NIVEN Mr A.A. EL AMAWY Mr N. AKAO Mr J.-J. ELMIGER Mr C. AMORIM Mr A.L. TOU Lord BRETT (United Kingdom) Mr E.-Y. CHUNG Mr P. SÉGUIN Mr C.A. TOMADA Mr M.M.S. MDLADLANA Mr D. JAYATILLEKA Mr Z. RAPACKI Ms. M.N. FARANI AZEVÊDO

Canada<sup>1</sup> 1972-73  $Mexico^{2}$ 1973-74 Morocco<sup>2</sup> 1974-75 Australia<sup>2</sup> 1975-76 Fed. Rep. of Germany<sup>1</sup> 1976-77 Worker member 1977-78 Colombia<sup>2</sup> 1978-79 United Rep. of Cameroon<sup>2</sup> 1979-80 Thailand<sup>2</sup> 1980-81 France<sup>1</sup> 1981-82 Mexico<sup>2</sup> 1982-83 Kenya<sup>2</sup> 1983 Kenya<sup>2</sup> 1983-84 India<sup>1</sup> 1984-85 Employer member 1985-86 United Kingdom<sup>1</sup> 1986-87 Brazil<sup>1</sup> 1987-88 Benin<sup>2</sup> 1988-89 Australia<sup>2</sup> 1989-90 Worker member 1990-91 France<sup>1</sup> 1991-92 Mexico<sup>2</sup> 1992-93 Zimbabwe<sup>2</sup> 1993-94 Philippines<sup>2</sup> 1994-95 France<sup>1</sup> 1995-96 Chile<sup>2</sup> 1996-97 Egypt<sup>2</sup> 1997-98 Japan<sup>1</sup> 1998-99 Switzerland<sup>2</sup> 1999-2000 Brazil<sup>1</sup> 2000-01 Burkina Faso<sup>2</sup> 2001-02 Worker member 2002-03 Republic of Korea<sup>2</sup> 2003-04 France<sup>1</sup> 2004-05 Argentina<sup>2</sup> 2005-06 South Africa<sup>2</sup> 2006-07 Sri Lanka<sup>2</sup> 2007-08 Poland<sup>2</sup> 2008-09 Brazil<sup>1</sup> 2009-10

<sup>1</sup> One of the States of chief industrial importance.

<sup>2</sup> Elected State.